Why I have a love/hate relationship with seeing old friends

11:42 p.m. - December 19, 2006
Why I have a love/hate relationship with seeing old friends
I sort of dislike seeing people, when I'm out and about, who I havn't seen in a long time. Both people I like and people I like not so much. And I'll tell you why... Starting with the people I like not so much. Since this is a relatively small town, it's fairly common to see someone you know in some way at least every time you leave your house. More than half of those people are people I knew from school or past jobs. Most of those people I could really care less if I never saw again in my lifetime. Not to sound like a heartless wench, but do you really care about seeing the girl that in elementary school, called you mean names and treated you like dirt, or maybe just never talked to you? Or the guy that you liked in High School that thought he was way too good for you? Ya I thought not. Well usually I just pretend like I didn't even see the person, even if it means hiding behind the nearest display or person until they go around a corner. I know that in some cases this could make me look like a snob, but in extreme cases I don't really care. Then there were the times, and there were many of them, that someone would come into my work that I never really talked to in school but knew their name. I didn't necessarily dislike these people, I just didn't really know them then and don't really think they care to know me now. Even so, they strike up a half-hearted chat with me like they really care how I'm doing. One of my pet peeves is irritating small talk where you say a lot of words but don't really say anything of any remote importance or sincerity. Example:
Hi Becky, how are you?
Oh Hi, Suzy, I'm good. How are you?
Fine, Are you married yet?
Yes I am, how about you?
No, not yet. Any kids?
Yes, a baby boy.
That's nice.
Where do you work?
Blah, Blah, Blah
Nice to see you.
Ya you too, bye.
Bye.
OMG I swear I could rip my hair out sometimes while smiling through my gritted teeth. Then there's the one's who you were aquantances with or something. People you liked but were never all that close to. You go through about the same thing, but with a little more actual interest and a few more real details. But what it really comes down to, is that you probably won't see them again for a really long time if ever and wouldn't even think about calling them even if you did exchange numbers. Although, you might wonder every once in a while about their whereabouts and how they are doing.
The fourth, and last, type is the person you were really close to at one point in time that for whatever reason, you didn't keep up contact with. (Or your contact is limited to chance encounters in the grocery store isle!)I have too many of those. They are the worst in my opinion because you try to fit sometimes years of conversations and details into 10-20 minutes of short conversation. I had this happen to me just the other night. I see a very good old friend of mine and the brother of a very good old friend (who I thought was very cute and would have loved to date by the way) standing by the milk case. I had no idea they had ever dated, but something tells me they are married. So I scream my excited hello and she screams back. When we have calmed down I ask the obvious question. They sheepishly answer yes as she tell me that they were dating even when I saw her last and asked if there was anyone. At the time, she basically skirted the question so this was fairly shocking. Especially when this friend had stated very firmly that she would probably never get married. Anyhoo, I digress... or ramble if you would rather call it that. So I am excited for them and immediately ask for several more details. Now, we must have stood there, by the milk case, for almost a half-hour if not longer. All the while, my poor sleepy toddler is snoozing on my coat in the cart. It's way past his bedtime and getting close to mine, but I didn't want the visit to end. We exchanged info, and sadly hugged and said goodbye, knowing that we might not have contact again for a while. You see I am almost as bad as a guy when it comes to correspondence. Lately I have found an easy way to keep up a remote form of contact, through email. Alas, she has no email. I admitted my shortcoming, knowing that she is very similar and promised a Christmas card in the very least. I'm gonna do my best to write her a few letters at least and maybe try to get together. It's sad that one of my frighteningly few friends who hasn't moved away is living just several miles away and I never see her. Well, here's to hoping for a better friendship.
Nat was a very mischeivious boy here. He got the lid off his milk and proceeded to have a milk bath while I was busy making dinner and not looking. DSCF0276 This was my Fall arrangement. I hand glittered the pumpkins and the (origianlly all white) candles. DSCF0284 He just looks so cute eating his ramen noodles with a fork like a big boy. DSCF0289 I just love this picture. I was spinning Nat around in my office chair and taking pics of him when he'd come around. This was the best one. DSCF0302 Goodnight, sleep tight. it's way past my bedtime. 0 comments so far

11:13 p.m. - December 08, 2006
Saving the Environment, one recycled can at a time!
So, I watched "Who Killed the Electric Car?" and "The Inconvenient Truth" this last week. I am thoroughly pissed at our government, the oil companies and anyone who sees what's going on and doesn't care to do anything about it! If you havn't watched these, you should. I also decided that I am no longer going to be a Republican. I still am extremely against abortion and I am not too excited about gay-marriage (please don't hate me), but I feel that republicans have shown themselves to be far too obsessed with the almighty dollar and far too unconcerned with our environment. They won't be so apathetic when the events of "The Day After Tomarrow" actually start happening. OH WAIT! They HAVE!! Unexplained weather changes that have been throwing off world records for a few years now and National disasters by the boatload! The question is when is enough gonna be enough?! AAaaarrrg!!


Anyhoo, I'm gearing up to watch two more movies that are apparently more truth than fiction. Syriana, starring George Clooney, is about how governments, multi-national corporations, and the media work together to do what's best for the profits of the super wealthy. They lie, cheat, steal, and kill to make sure the rich get richer. The other movie is "The Constant Gardener", about pharmaceutical drug companies testing unproven and unsafe drugs on illiterate poor people in third world countries, in order to find the best subjects to use for their scientific data. They use this data to get the drugs approved even when they are ineffective and unsafe. I really hate what money does to weak-minded people. I want to move out of this country, but it probably wouldn't help. I can only try to do what I can to influence the world in a good way. However small my contributions are, maybe they will make a microscopic difference.

Just for the fun of it...here's some pics from Halloween! Nathaneal was a mouse and I was a cat. I had deciding I wanted him to be a mouse and then was trying to come up with what I wanted to be when it hit me! The cat chases the mouse! I know...cheesy...but very cute, you must say! DSCF0241
I made both costumes myself. Complete with ears and tails for both of us!
DSCF0243 This is my sister in the only pic I got of here before my camera battery died. She was a sexy naughty fairy! I was so jealous! I always wanted to be something sexy for halloween, but it's kinda hard when you're a pudgy girl. :( I tried one year, to be a semi-sexy Dorothy from the land of OZ, but I don't believe I succeeded. DSCF0253 She has a very hot red dress under a trench-like coat, and knee-high platform boots. Not to mention very curly, naturally red hair. She looked amazing! If I ever get a better pic, I'll post it. Anyhoo, night all! 0 comments so far

previous & next