Last Oregon trip entry!

10:56 p.m. - December 05, 2006
Last Oregon trip entry!
Several days into our trip to Oregon, we went out on our own to sightsee in a nearby beach-town. Dan was craving some internet game time and I wanted to window shop so we decided to part ways. Dan found a coffeshop that had an unlocked wireless connection and sat in the car with his laptop while Nathaneal napped. I went off to feast my eyes on shiny baubles and stunning local masterpieces. I felt a little odd taking pictures in the shops, but I
couldn't resist capturing the beauty, since I couldn't afford to actually purchase anything. I was practically drooling as I walked through the glass shop. Beautiful doesn't even begin to describe what I think of these works of art!
DSCF0001
DSCF0003
DSCF0016
DSCF0017
DSCF0027
Afterwards, we took a walk down the fish and chips/bait and tackle store. (Yes I know this sounds like an utterly rediculous and risky move on our part!) For some reason, I had it in my head that the less fancy and the more "authentic" a fish and chips restaraunt looked, the better the food would be. Kinda like a well kept secret. Boy was I wrong! It wasn't terrible or inedible, but it sure wasn't what I was expecting! my fish was dry and Dan's burger was plain and unspecial. Really, nothing to write home about and very dissapointing. We decided to brush it off as necessary evil of taking a chance. Sometimes you get a pearl from a clam and sometimes you just get squishy grossness.
DSCF0028
From there we took a walk down to the docks and had some picture taking fun. (my idea completely...everyone else gets dragged along!)
DSCF0032
DSCF0036
We went to look at the water and saw some visiting sealions. They were so cute!
DSCF0048
We chatted up the local fisherman who were down at the docks catching crabs.
DSCF0050
Mostly Dan talked for a long time while we waited! LOL
DSCF0071
I also tried to get some pics of some jellyfish that were hanging around the docks. There were probably hundreds of them, but they were all spread out. It was pretty hard getting a good shot of them cuz I'd have to zoom up real close then they'd move off the screen by the time the shutter clicked. I must have taken at least 20 pics just of these darn jellyfish!
DSCF0062
I will probably skip the rest of the trips pics just to save myself time. We left my dads on Fri to go about 5hrs upstate to visit Dan's grandparents in Portland. We had a nice time there and the next day, we packed up and drove straight home. We left at about 5pm Sat night and arrived home around 5am Sun morn!! I did the first few hours and Dan took over from there. I was all for pulling over at a rest stop and sleeping for a few hours, but Dan wanted to push forward since we only had about 2-3hrs left at this point. Red Bull is amazing! Overall, we had a very fun trip. I've never done anything quite like it before. We'll probably try it again sometime after the second munchkin comes on the scene. I hope the grandparents don't die before then. What an awful thought...I take it back. I just hope they will be able to see their next grandchild.




Well! I am glad to be finished with that update. I wil try to not to bore anyone with any more lengthy, picture-heavy updates. To beddy-bie for this tired girl. 0 comments so far

previous & next