-Template Monster

5:29 p.m. - February 23, 2006
-Template Monster
I am so STOKED! I love the thrill of learning something new and being able to apply it. The feeling is only surpassed when I figured it out myself instead of someone else showing me. To clarify, I wanted to have a personalized entry page for my diary and didn't know how to program it. I found a site that belonged to someone else, who makes them and offers to let people download them and make them their own. I filled out all the info I knew and then was given "my template" It was just a grouping of letters and numbers to my untrained eye and I didn't know how to get it from the page to my diary. It occured to me that maybe I should "copy" it and "paste" it into my template. This resulted in the new page on top of the old but intermingled. So I realized I needed to delete the old template. I was afraid though,lest something go wrong and I would be left with a "broken" template. So I decided to copy the old one and paste it into a notepad which I did with success. I then deleted the old from my diary and tentatively clicked "submit". Success! Sort of. It was all good except for a random floating message that was not meant to be there. I located the message in the template, and with fingers crossed hoping it wasn't important, deleted it. Checking the page again... Success! Well not quite. Upon clicking my guestbook link, I was faced with an error page. I look up at the address and it appears the actual address of the guestbook was missing. I must not have entered it correctly when I was filling in my info. OK so i figured out the problem...which is halfway to a solution as they say (is that what they say?), but now how do I fix it? I pondered this a bit and then decided to search the random numbers and letters in my old template (AHA!lucky thing I saved it right?)for anything resembling a guestbook address. Well I got lucky. Then I had to find the incomplete address in the new template and complete it. Clicked submit yet another time, holding my breath, and...SUCCESS!! Everything finally worked as it should and in celebration of this fact I decided to tell anyone who cares to hear it, how I conquered the big bad template monster without any help! I am sure anyone, who is still awake, can understand how I feel right now. OK fine so it wasn't a particularly exciting event to hear retold, but I enjoyed the telling and that's all that matters! =P 0 comments so far

previous & next